I have decided to start a blog. Not because the world needs another person trying to persuade the masses to think the way he or she does, there are plenty of those. I am writing out of a therapeutic need in many ways. First, I just need to get thoughts out of my head. I tend to focus (or dwell) on something until I have an outlet. Sometimes, it’s through spirited conversation with my closest family members and friends. Most of the time my outlet is through writing. Second, I have seen a change in our country from civil, thoughtful exchange of ideas to uncivilized, uninformed, stubborn threatening. No one has ever swayed another person to their viewpoint through threats, yelling, violence, or lies. I would like to be a part of the movement for the return of considerate, constructive, and positive discussion no matter the topic and no matter the viewpoint.

This will not be a blog full of angry rants and threatening language. I am not a particularly confrontational person. I have never been one of those people who get an adrenaline rush at the thought of engaging in debate with someone. I tend to shy away from conversations that I know will end in disagreement. This blog will take me out of my comfort zone, as I know not everyone will agree with what I write.

While I do not like arguing, I do have very strong opinions. Some of them are the result of influence by my parents. Some of my opinions have been formed over time through experience. I have earned a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree, both in communications. I have studied in great depth the concepts of conflict resolution, persuasion, and interpersonal communication.  I have, also, had the privilege to live in several areas of the country. I have met people from diverse backgrounds and I have friends with beliefs very different from my own. I have learned from these people, both good and bad. I know there are differences between us, but I also know that we are fundamentally the same.

I have been reluctant in the past to disagree with my friends, and even more so with strangers. I now feel compelled to “speak” through writing. I do not wish to be confrontational in the negative sense of the word. I simply would like to share another perspective. I believe our country’s evolving culture has left behind some very basic principles of a kind and civilized society when it comes to communication. This blog is meant to remind readers of the value of give and take. It is good to have opinions and ideas, and it is good to listen to those of others. You never know what you will learn.

I hope my posts will resonate with readers and inspire positive discussion. Thank you for reading!

One thought on “Intentions

Leave a Reply

